Sorry for the lack of updates - I have to blame it on lack of sleep (nervous bah the night before my first day on the new job) and catching it up on the next day.
Anyway, on my first day of work, I had a small but interesting task. It started with my boss forwarding me an email. Here’s the content (my office’s domain name has been replaced with XXXXX)
From: “james.zhou” [james.zhou@domaininasia.com]
Date: 7 January 2008 14:39:49 GMT+08:00
To: “XXXXX” [xxxxx@XXXXX.com]
Subject: Domain name of xxxxx (To CEO)
Dear CEO,
We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company’s in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the Jan 4, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named “HengTong Holdings Ltd” wanted to register following Domain names:
XXXXX.cn
XXXXX.com.cn
XXXXX.net.cn
XXXXX.org.cn
XXXXX.com.hk
XXXXX.hk
XXXXX.cc
XXXXX.tw
XXXXX.com.tw
Internet brand keyword:
XXXXX
through our body.
After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of HengTong Holdings company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
James zhou
Asia Domain Name Registration Limited
__(’Read the rest of this entry »’)